Today with the A.L.L.–Academy of Lifelong Learning


Four Aces

What a time I had today with the students of the A.L.L.–the Academy of Lifelong Learning–at Empire State College in Saratoga Springs! I did a presentation on my novel, The Burning of The Piping Rock, for a great group of people. And what a help it was to me to talk about the Piping Rock’s arson in 1954 by having the students not only knowing about 1954, but also having lived through it!

Here’s a case in point. My presentation began with a recording of the Four Aces singing “Heart of My Heart,” a big hit of 1954, as well as a key element in the novel’s plot line. I asked if anyone remembered the tune. Remember it? They certainly did and sang along with the whole song, verse for verse!

Thanks for a great afternoon A.L.L.!

Joe

Leave a Reply

